You can charge up to 20% as a Missouri unclaimed money finder.
Missouri is currently holding over $600 million in unclaimed money.
That means there is currently $120 million up for grabs!
There are certain rules that need to be followed in Missouri:
No agreement to locate money for a fee is valid unless the agreement discloses the nature and value of the property, is in writing, and signed and acknowledged by the owner
- Any agreement to pay commission to recover money which has only been delivered to the treasurer within the past twelve months is unenforceable
- Any agreement to pay commission to recover money which has been held by the treasurer for more than twelve months but less than twenty-four months is limited to a 10% fee
- Any agreement to pay commission to recover money which has been held by the treasurer for more than twenty-four months but less than thirty-six months is limited to a 15% fee
- Any agreement to pay commission to recover money which as been held by the treasurer for more than thirty-six months is limited to a 20% fee
- Any person wishing to charge a fee to recover money on a claim must register with the State as a finder of unclaimed money
Click here if you would like to read the complete “Missouri Revised Statutes, Chapter 47-Lost and Unclaimed Property Section 447.581”
As I mentioned at the top of the page, Missouri is currently holding more than $600 million in unclaimed money.
Last year $30 million was returned by the State to it’s rightful owners. That sounds like a lot of money, but compared to all of the unclaimed money being held in Missouri, only 5% was returned.
There are more than 3.5 million owners. Obviously the State cannot return all of the money being held on their own, despite their best efforts. They need help.
Please click here if you are interested in becoming an unclaimed money finder in Missouri.